Astana Basketball Club is founded in March 2011 sponsored by Sovereign Wealth Fund Samruk-Kazyna. In 2013 Astana BC joined Astana Presidential Professional Sport Club. In 2016 Astana Basketball Club was renamed, and now the capital club is proudly called Astana Presidential Basketball Club.

The coaching staff was headed by the best professionals in this field:
  1. In 2011 till 2013 Matteo Boniciolli, who was honored with the title of the Best Coach in his native Italy, held the position of the head coach. The same year Italian coach won Eurochallenge with Avellino team, and in 2010 Lottomatika Roma under his guidance entered top 16 of EuroLeague.
  2. In season 2013/2014 Serbian Alexandar Trifunovic headed the team and led it to absolute winners of Kazakhstan National Championship. He stabilized Astana position in a ranking  table and put the team to playoff of VTB United League.
  3. From 2014 to 2016 Lithuanian specialist Ramunas Butautas led the team. A famous European professional headed the Lithuanian National Men Team from 2007 to 2010, where among his achievements were Eurobasket bronze medal and trip to Beijing Olympiad, where the team took honorable forth place.
  4. In a season 2016/2017 a professional coach Ellias Papatheodoru from Greece takes on a job of the head coach of Astana team. An ambitious coach has a large experience with the young teams, leading Greek Youth Team U20.
In 2014 Astana took part in European club competitions  such as FIBA Eurochallenge finishing its performance on Top 16 in a step from quarterfinals.

Achievements of Astana Basketball Team:
  • Seven-times Champion of Kazakhstan Cup — 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018
  • Seven-times  Champion of National Lague of Kazakhstan — 2011/2012, 2012/2013, 2013/2014, 2014/2015, 2016/2017, 2017/2018, 2018/2019
  • Silver medalist of National League of Kazakhstan — 2015/2016
  • Bronze medalist of FIBA Asia Champions Cup — 2017
  • 7th place in a group United VTB League (season 2011/12)
  • 5th place in a group Playoff of United VTB League (season 2012/13)
  • 5th place in a group Playoff of United VTB League (season 2013/14)
  • 8th place Playoff of United VTB League (season 2014/15)
  • 6th place Playoff of United VTB League (season 2018/19)

In  the United VTB League Championship Astana made  numerous sensations during six seasons winning on its home court such grands of European basketball as Lithuanian Zhalgiris and Letuvos Ritas, Ukrainian Budivelnik, Donetsk, Azaovmash, Estonian Kalev, Latvian VEF, Russian Nizhniy Novgorod, Krasniye Krylya, Khimki, Avtodor.

The results achieved by the team cannot leave the fans and officals of Kazakh basketball indifferent. For such a short period of time these results can be valued as good indeed, but the club is going to pursue its goals further.

Players of Astana won numerous titles in the leagues they played:
  • Jerry Johnson has a title of the best pointguard of Kazakhstan Cup in 2012,2014 and 2015, as well as of Championship of Republic of Kazakhstan in seasons 2011/2012, 2013/2014
  • Rustam Ergali is the best shooting guard of Kazakhstan Cup in 2012 and 2017.
  • Rashid Mahalbasic is the best center of Kazakhstan Cup in 2015 and in the Championship of Republic of Kazakhstan in season 2014/2015.
  • Anton Ponomarev is the best power forward of Kazakhstan Cup in 2013 and the best Kazakh player of 2012/2013 in United VTB League.
  • Patrick Calathes is the best forward of Kazakhstan Cup in 2014. 
  • Anatoliy Kolesnikov is the best Kazakh player of 2014/2015 season in United VTB League.

In upcoming seasons Astana will please the fans with its new spectacular and bright victories.